Day: April 29, 2013

Movieholic watches: 500 Days of Summer

“I, like being on my own. I think relationships are messy and people’s feelings get hurt. Who needs it? We’re young, we live in one of the most beautiful cities in the world; might as well have fun while we can and, save the serious stuff for later.”

–  Summer Finn (500 Days of Summer)

image

The movie was about a boy, Tom, who met a girl, Summer. The first time Tom saw Summer, he knew, she was “the one”. For Tom, it was love at first sight when she walked into the greeting card company where he worked, she was the new administrative assistant. However, Summer did not believe in relationships or boyfriends – in her statement, real life will always ultimately get in the way – Tom and Summer became more than just friends. For Summer, they’re friends; but as Tom sees it, they’re a couple.

The film is presented in a nonlinear narrative, as it “randomly” jumps from various days within the 500-day span of Tom and Summer’s relationship, indicated by an animation that includes the day’s number; this summary is a linear version of the events of the film.

image

Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel were in this quirky story about boy meets girl, boy became infatuated but girl wanted to be “just friends.” Being friends with the girl of your dreams is possibly the most dreaded thing that could happen to you.

This movie is my favorite movie in the world. I think know it IS the best movie in the world. I have watched this movie for like, 3,454,560,457 times or more. I watched it (for the first time) in our laptop. It was the first movie I had watched because the title is quite interesting. I mean, c’mon, (500) Days of Summer?! Who would not want to watch a movie where there are 500 days of summer?

The idea alone is epic. A movie about a whole relationship. Most movies are boy meets girl, boy gets the girl; then it ends there. Well, I should tell you, after watching this movie you will learn that there is no happy ever after for everybody; well at least for now. If you meet someone and you love that person very much does not mean s/he is the one for you. Life happens.

In the movie, there is this part where Tom’s expectations and the reality are shown both at the same time. Just there, you will see that not everything goes your way. The things you are making up in your head does not always line up with reality. This (movie) teaches us not to expect too much because there is the possibility that life might not get “in-tact” with you on this one.

image

So the movie plays out like this. Skipping back and forth in time showing us the good, the bad, and the terrible in Tom and Summer’s relationship. It is an interesting way to tell a story. Little intricacies are revealed about scenes we have already seen part of, but they are given a different context.

image

Moving on. Like what I have said, I watched this movie many times now. I forgot the day but one of my favorite scenes is the mob dance. I am THIS close in dancing it while watching the movie. I am obsessed with this movie, you can tell.

image

For the soundtrack and musical scoring, I give this 4/5 (actually nearing 4.5/5). It is really good and the song selection is “daring”. I bet the musical supervisor is kinda nervous about putting some songs in the movie because s/he does not know if the people will like it. Well, I say to you (Mr/Ms. Musical Supervisor) you did a great job. The songs and lyrics fit the scenes perfectly.

image

The setting and the locations are breath taking. Well, breath taking not in a way that there is a castle in the top of a mountain or something like that. Breath taking in a way that, “Hey! I have been to that place! And done the same thing they did.” Every scene perfectly fell in the right location. You know, like there is no better location for that scene.

image

The movie is sweet; it is also heart breaking at the same time. The flow is good; every second is a must-watch. There are inspiring quotes; I even kept a few on my blog. In the end of the movie, you will learn that you cannot ascribe great cosmic significance to a simple earthly event coincidence is what all anything ever is, nothing more than coincidence.

image

Moreover, that if one door closes, another one opens. There are plenty of fish in the sea. I like to quote from Mitch Albom, “All endings are also beginnings, we just don’t know it at time.”

image

This is a big slap of reality in your life’s face. “(500) Days of Summer” is as real as a movie can get to the actual truth of life. There are the ups, the downs and the games that people play without making their true feelings known. It is a cute, sweet film and I highly recommend this movie to you. I swear to all the panda bears in the world, you will not regret it.

Experimental Self-photography/Photo Manipulation

Last time I went to SM San Lazaro, I saw a book (in National Bookstore) about taking self-portraits and editing photos and such. If you want to look up for it the writer is Miss Aniela I think.

Moving on! So, I got so inspired by the photos I saw in the book, I thought it would be awesome if I try some of the techniques, I have read. :)) Here you go. But, I have to warn you, these are just experimental. Just want to check out if I could do “this stuff”.

image

“Bipolar” (2013)

– In this photo, you’ll see “two me’s” in two different moods. I don’t think if you see two moods in here, but that’s not important. Haha. The failure in this photo is the lighting. If you look in my skin tone to the left, it’s more natural (well, for me). And if you look at the skin tone to the right, I’m pale. So next time I do this, I’ll use some spotlights and flashes on cams.

image

“Identity Crisis” (2013)

– Now, here you see me reading a book and the shadow is a girl. In this photo, I worked with my cousin. And this teaches me how to work in sync. You see, the failure in this photo is we didn’t work that well. Not that we had a fight about something; it’s something else. Look at the shadow, “her” back is straight, mine isn’t. So, next time, I’ll look an eye out for my partner or the people I work with.

image

“Bitten by a Spider” Draft (2013)

– This photo is my favorite, yet most stressing of them all. I think I don’t have to point out the failure in editing this photo. If you look on my ass (sorry for the word), it’s kinda faded. It’s something to do with my shirt. It’s hard to explain, but let’s just say photoshop isn’t helping with my crisis. But I won’ be taken down defeated so…

image

“Bitten by a Spider” 2nd Draft (2013)

– I made another one. But if you look closely, you’ll see I have a one-cheeked ass. If ya’ll know what I mean. Haha. And look at the drawer (just below the red paper bag), it isn’t equal. And yea, my background sucks. And the wall painting is fucked up. Nonetheless, the photo is about me i a wall. Next time, I should really look close to the small details in editing.

image

“Eccentric” (2013)

– I’m just weird-ing out. Played with the levels, exposures and textures in photoshop. Hahaha.